Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join NYSPA
Legislative Committee

Chair: John Northman, PhD
Vice Chair: Roy Aranda, PsyD, JD


 Gayle Berg, PhD, PLLC  Shane Owens, PhD
 Tom Caffrey, PhD, Duty to Protect  Dinelia Rosa, PhD, Grassroots
 June Feder, PhD, Out of Network  Jeanette Sawyer-Cohen, PhD, Child Policy 
 Jerry Grodin, PhD, DPA  Les Schad, PhD, Bill Review 
 Dan Kaplin, PhD, Council Rep  Virginia Waters, PhD, RxP
 Maury Lacher, PhD, FAC  


The Legislative Committee (L/C) is the "advocacy arm" of NYSPA. The primary purpose of the L/C is to seek enactment of legislation favorable to psychology and block legislative initiatives unfavorable to the profession. By working directly with governmental units responsible for implementing laws, the L/C also seeks to bring about changes in policy through regulations. The L/C works directly in collaboration with the NYSPA lobbyist.

The legislative committee meets four times a year. Discussion is lively, stimulating and at times even provocative. Meetings are held on Saturday mornings from 10-1. Meetings are open to any NYSPA member.

Come to where the action is and help shape your professional future!