Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join NYSPA
2017 Election Information

Click here to view the NYSPA Town Hall Meeting with 2018 NYSPA President-Elect Candidates

Dear NYSPA Member,

The NYSPA Campaign Season is now underway!
In October, you will be voting for NYSPA President-Elect, NYSPA Treasurer, Division Officers as well as Division and Region Council Representatives. Those elected will assume office January 1, 2018.

NYSPA Candidate Webpages:
There are two candidates for 2018 NYSPA President-Elect, Drs. Alan Hack and Dan Kaplin. You will be able to read their bios and statements by clicking the links at the bottom of this page. You will also see a listing of supporters.

There is one person running for NYSPA Treasurer: Dr. Julie Lehane.

Division Candidates
Click here to view Division Candidates

IMPORTANT RULES during the campaign season:
These are the official rules ratified by NYSPA council that will govern the 2017 election: 

Election Rules

However, we want to highlight the following rules. If you do not follow the rules you might jeopardize the candidacy of the candidate. 

  1. No member of the Nominations and Elections Committee, the Executive Board or the Executive Director may publicly endorse a candidate or assist their election in any way. Resignation from the Committee does not alter this policy.

  2. Individual members of NYSPA may endorse a preferred candidate in personal conversations with colleagues and in the NYSPA election webpages.  To be included in a candidate's web-based list of supporters, please send written notice to Central Office (email, fax 518-437-0177 or mail to NYSPA, 3 Pine West Plaza, Ste 308, Albany, NY 12205).

  3. Only individual members of NYSPA are permitted to make and/or post endorsements of candidates for NYSPA-wide office, by following the procedures specified in the rules.

  4. Conference and Event Planners: Division or Region events that include one candidate must also be open to all other candidates for that office.

If you have any questions, please contact Central Office or the Chair of the Nominations and elections Committee, Roy Aranda, PsyD, JD.

We salute all candidates for stepping up to the plate to serve our members.

2017 NYSPA Nominations & Elections Committee:
Roy Aranda, PsyD, JD, Chair
Bridget Amatore, PhD
Rochelle Balter, PhD, JD
David Byrom, PhD
Lenny Davidman, PhD
Robin Lynch, PhD
Julie Shaw, EdD
Sue Warshaw, EdD, ABPP
Herb Gingold, PhD, NYSPA Pres. - ex officio


Click here to view the NYSPA Town Hall Meeting with 2018 NYSPA President-Elect Candidates

2018 NYSPA President-Elect Candidates:

Alan Hack, PhD    Dan Kaplin, PhD

View candidate information
as separate web page

   View candidate information
as separate web page


Click here to view the NYSPA Town Hall Meeting with 2018 NYSPA President-Elect Candidates


Click here to ask the candidates a question!

2018 Division Candidate Biographies:


Division of Early Career Psychologists: President-Elect
Courtney F. Bancroft, PsyD

Dr. Bancroft serves as a Senior Psychosocial Faculty for the Department of Family and Social Medicine, at Montefiore Medical Center, and runs a part-time Private Practice in NY. Her leadership experience includes service as President of Psi Chi at Loyola University Maryland, and Class Representative for SGA at Pepperdine University.  


Division of Early Career Psychologists: Representative to NYSPA Council
Erik Moore, PhD

Erik Moore, PhD, is a neuropsychologist in private practice with subspecialty interests in learning disorders, Autism, ADHD, brain injury, public safety, forensic, and immigration evaluations. With prior term as a NYSPA Council Representative, he is familiar with, and in support of current NYSPA legislative agenda and Council procedures. Having been on the executive board of numerous NYSPA and regional divisions, he will work tirelessly to represent our division and our profession as a representative to NYSPA Council, keeping our members updated.


Forensic Division: Member at Large
Bridget Amatore, PhD

Bridget Amatore practices forensic psychology as well as clinical neuropsychology. She has been a Board Member and Treasurer of the Forensic Division. She has also served as a Committee Member and Co-Chair of the Annual Forensic Division Conferences since 2010.

Forensic Division: Member at Large
I. Bruce Frumkin, PhD, ABPP

Dr. Bruce Frumkin, a recent NYSPA member, earned an ABPP in Forensic Psychology. He has served as Forensic Psychology Committee Chair for the Florida Psychological Association and for Division 42. He has chaired numerous multi-day national forensic psychology conferences. You can get more information by accessing Dr. Frumkin's website at



Forensic Division: Member at Large
Trica L. Peterson, PhD, ABPP

Trica L. Peterson, PhD, ABPP (Forensic) is the owner of Peterson Psychological Services, PLLC, a private clinical and forensic psychology practice based in Rochester, New York. She is an experienced evaluator and expert witness, currently focusing on criminal and civil cases across New York and Pennsylvania.


Organization, Consulting and Work Psychology (OCW): President-Elect
Thomas Diamante, PhD

Tom offers 25 years of cross-industry, cross-cultural, c-level consulting and corporate experience with CCA, Merrill Lynch, KPMG Consulting, and Altria Group. With an industrial & organizational psychology PhD and a post-doctorate in cognitive behavior therapy, his interdisciplinary perspective impacts his coaching, organization development, selection, performance, and change management practice.


Division of Psychoanalysis: Member at Large
Helen Stein, PhD

After receiving her PhD in Clinical Psych at Teachers College Helen Stein spent 10 years at The Menninger Clinic where she was a postdoc, staff psychologist and researcher.  She completed her psychoanalytic training in Kansas. She currently supervises, runs a private practice, and chairs the Div 39 Book Group.