• Find a Psychologist
  • Contact Us

    3 Pine West Plaza, Ste 308
    Albany, NY 12205
    Phone: (518) 437-1040
    Fax: (518) 437-0177
    E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

  • Join NYSPA
  • 2015 Renewal
  • Member Login

Awards Committee

Chair: Laurence Baker, PhD

awardsCommittee Members:
Dianne Polowczyk, PhD
Dinelia Rosa, PhD
Alan Hack, PhD
Rosemary Flanagan, PhD

The Awards committee identifies and publicly recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to NYSPA and to psychology. The committee invites members to nominate their colleagues for four categories of awards which are outlined below. Select this link to view a list of award recipients from 1988 to current.

View list of award recipients from 1988 to 2012.

awards_2Award nominations are received year round and presented at the Annual Convention. 
To nominate someone for an award please send to:

Laurence Baker, Awards Chair
c/o New York State Psychological Association
3 Pine West Plaza, Suite 308
Albany, NY 12205
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Please include as much relevant information as possible in your nominating statement. The awards are presented at the NYSPA Annual Convention.


BF_Williams_AwardThe Allen V. Williams Memorial Award
The Allen V. Williams Award is NYSPA's highest honor and is given on the basis of any one, or more, of the following criteria:

  • sustained service to the profession;
  • significant involvement in the broad issue of the profession;
  • a unique contribution to the profession; and
  • a unique contribution to NYSPA.

Distinguished Service Awards

This award is presented to psychologists who have demonstrated an unusually strong commitment to NYSPA's programs and goals. Ordinarily 3-5 services awards are presented each year.

The Beacon Award
This award is presented to a psychologist whose leadership and/or advocacy activities has established a guiding light for the profession of psychology.

The Sidney A. (Bud) Orgel Memorial Award
The Sidney A. Orgel Memorial Award was established in 2005, to recognize an early career psychologist member of NYSPA that has shown exemplary leadership qualities. This memorial award honors Dr. Orgel's commitment to mentoring future psychologists and his service and passion for the profession. The award include a cash award.

Diversity Award
The NYSPA Diversity Award is given to a psychologist who has demonstrated a notably sustained strong commitment to diversity and inclusion within the NYSPA programs and goals.